It's been 9 days since I've given birth to my sweet baby girl. I feel like she's always been part of our life, I can't even remember what it was like before her. I wanted to share my labor story as well as the first week experience.
Lets start with Sunday! I was supposed to be induced at 10 pm on Sunday night, it was about 9 when I got a call from Mountain-View saying they have to push my induction back because they didn't have a room. Normally that wouldn't be such a big deal but I am on blood thinners so my injections are timed around when I was going to be induced so I could get an epidural. We waited ALL night. I finally called and was told I could come in at 9 AM on Monday. So by the time I got all hooked up and labs done, plus monitoring the baby I was able to start pitocin at 11.
The nurse was able to increase the pit every half hour. She didn't check me again until around 2 pm. My cervix dilated from a 2 to a 3 and I was effaced about 70%. With the way this was going it looked like I wasn't going to have this baby until WAY late that night. Around 4 pm she came in again to check and they decided to break my water. The doctor came in around 5 PM and gave me my epidural first. Lucy did not tolerate it well so I had to stay on my left side (meaning I could feel everything on my right side but nothing on my left). Then the other doctor came in and broke my water, I was dilated to about a 4 only but I was 100% effaced!
About 30 minutes later I got this insane NEED to push. I felt like she was right there. We called the nurse in and she checked. Sure enough Lucy was right there and I had to hold off on pushing until the doctor got there. The nurse had me do 2 practice pushes to get her head a little lower.
Like 20 minutes later the doctor showed up. It was time to push. 2 sets of pushes later and Lucy was OUT.
She was born at 6:28 PM on Monday, December 28th. She was 8 pounds & 20 inches exactly.
I have never seen such a beautiful baby, and she was mine! Tyler & I couldn't be more proud.
The first couple of days were rough. She was constantly hungry!! I wasn't making enough milk to satisfy her, but the nurses said it was ok to keep feeding her that way. Well it wasn't enough because she got a little jaundiced and we had to stay one more night in the hospital. We started supplementing with formula so help get her to poop out the bill until my milk came in.
Well Lucy is a REALLY good eater, I mean REALLY good. She has a strong suck. It made breast feeding horrible. I realized I might not be able to do this because I didn't want to be in so much pain. I know this is really horrible to say, but I hated being in so much pain when it should really be enjoyable. A few days later my milk started to come in, breast feeding still hurt but I could pump. So I pumped a lot, A LOT. It started to get really exhausting to pump all the time. So finally I tried going back to breast. She is doing much better and isn't hurting me as much.
I felt like a failure for not wanting to breastfeed. It was a terrible feeling. I shouldn't have felt this way because as long as I am providing nutrition for my baby and taking good care of her there is nothing to be ashamed about. So here's hoping that in 2016 people will be less judgmental and more supportive of each others choices.
We also got Lucy's newborn photos done! They turned out AMAZING. My friend Amanda took them and was able to get them back to us that same day!! I highly recommend her if you ever need any kind of photos done.
















Post a Comment